Misdemeanor Domestic Violence and Getting your Right to Keep and Bear Arms Back in Nevada
The following are commonly asked questions about getting a Pardon so that you can keep your right to bear arms after receiving a Misdemeanor Domestic Violence conviction.
Question: Now that I am finishing my domestic violence case – and have a domestic violence conviction, can I ever get my right to own a firearm back?
Answer: Yes, if you successfully file for a Pardon from The Nevada Pardon Board and it is granted.
Question: How long do I have to wait? How much does it cost?
Answers: For a misdemeanor DV, five (5) years from when you are released from custody or from when you were last under a suspended sentence.
Other crimes have various waiting periods as well:
For an E felony, 6 years;
For a B, C, D felony 8 years;
For a D or C felony, it is 9 years; and
For a category A felony, 12 years.
Question: How does the Pardon Board decide on whether or not to grant my pardon?
Answer: Based upon 4 criteria:
# 1 – Post-Conviction character and conduct -demonstrated ability to lead a responsible and productive life for a significant period of time.
# 2 – Seriousness and relative recency of the offense – When did it occur, was it a violent act, did it result in injury and/or financial losses ?
# 3 – Acceptance of responsibility, remorse and atonement – Do you accept blame, have you paid restitution, do you genuinely desire forgiveness?
# 4 Need for Relief – Why do you need a pardon? Is it for work purposes, can you prove that? Why do you want or need to possess firearms – do you carry a lot of cash, do you have a family to protect?
For more information on Nevada Pardons visit our site here. If you wish to speak to a Pardon lawyer contact Michael Anello with the Law Offices of Adam J Graves by clicking here.
Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!